Are you staying in town or heading to a city in another state? Parking will likely be a pain, but knowing your rights may save you money and a trip to the tow yard. We spoke with the Department of Licensing and Regulation about how drivers can stop tow companies looking to take advantage of them. They're always out trying to take advantage of uneducated drivers.
Department of Licensing and Regulation and wants drivers to know their rights. Looking at tow signs just the color and background of their hours may be legal or illegal. There's a slight difference that makes one legal and one not. The requirements have to be met. If they are not met, it could be an illegal to tow from that property. First they must have the tow symbol and then have all of the pertinent information which includes have the hours of operation in red letters on a white background.
We say one sign that had the lettering incorrect. The hours of enforcement in that case, 24 hours, are in white letters on a red background. The statute in this locale says that the letter must be in red lettering on a white background. So in this cases this sign does not meet requirements. We do see a fair share of tows that maybe shouldn't have ben done.
Another popular clash happens when a driver comes back and sees their car in the process of being towed. The tow company should have to drop the car if they're still in the parking facility. And if it's not fully hooked up, they have to drop it for free.
If you see a tow truck taking your vehicle off a private lot and they haven't left yet, the tow driver has to give it back. And if it's not completely mounted on the truck, they have to do it for free. Some towing companies bank on the hope that drivers don't know these rules. And further the tow companies may not necessarily let them know. So consumers be informed. The more you know, the less they can tow.
For example in Texas also learned the most a towing company can charge in the state of Texas. is two hundred fifty dollars. That's when you're picking it up from there lot. But when it comes to drop off fees, it is a little more complicated. First of all, drop off fees only apply when the wrecker is fully prepared to transport the car, but it has not left the property yet. In that case, the wrecker can charge a drop off fee of up to one hundred twenty five dollars.
But each city or county does have its own rules. In Austin, Texas the maximum amount a tow truck driver can charge to drop the vehicle is $50. Also, if you think you have been illegally towed, there are two things you need to do. First, file a complaint with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and go to the Justice of the Peace Court in your county to request a tow hearing. These same guidelines apply in other jurisdictions as well.